Podcasting= sleepyness

August 12, 2009 maddiehatter

So I can’t figure out why, after we record our podcast, I’m exhausted!  I feel like I’ve run a marathon.  Who would have ever thought that podcasting could wear a girl out!  I just know that I sleep really well on Tuesday nights!  I guess it’s because I have to think so much on my weekend.  Normally I like to leave my brain in bed on my days off.  (Doesn’t everyone do that?)

Honestly, I think that this might be one of my favorite episodes so far.  I was really excited to talk about everything today.  I think it’s because I’ve been working so hard on my swatches, and I’ve learned a lot this week.  It’s actually kind of interesting to stop and really pay attention to the way you knit.  I’ve been knitting a lot slower just to really pay attention and see how knitting really works.  I think that I actually have really nice tension and my stitches are pretty even.  I was really proud of my swatches even before I blocked them.  I have to admit that I was a bit nervous about knitting my garter stitch swatch purling the whole thing, but I’m really glad I did it.  It was really good practice and I think that it really helped me with my purling techniques.  I recommend that everyone tries it.

I’m debating picking up my dragon shawl again.  I got so frustrated with it that I had to walk away before I burned it.  I really want to make this shawl, but I’m not sure if I’m having an issue reading the pattern, or if the pattern is wrong.  I feel like I count the stitches per row and I’m right, and then I do one row with a couple different stitches in it and I end up all messed up.  I’m pretty sure that I’m knitting the stitches correctly and I end up all off count.  UUUUGGGGGHHHH! I just need to pick it back up and get a fresh look at it.  Maybe it will just come to be this time and I’ll wonder what was wrong with me before.  I hope it happens that way at least.

I’m really looking forward to my last week at work.  I’m a bit nervous to start my new job, but I know that it will be wonderful!  I guess it’s just hard when you’ve been at the same place for 4 years, it’s hard to think of being anywhere else.  I’m really excited to go out dancing on Sunday though.  That is going to be sooooo fun!  It’s been a long time since my friends and I really just went out on the town.  YAY for celebrating my last week!

Well, I guess that’s all for now.  I’m going to try to start posting pics on here so everyone who is following my progress on the Teaching Course can see what I’ve been up to.  Again, I’m still learning about all this stuff.  I’m going to try to do that tomorrow actually.  So stay tuned!  Please send any comments or questions.  I love to hear from people.  And if you’ve just stumbled upon my blog and haven’t heard about my podcast, check it out.  It’s called Here’s To Ewe.  You can find it at herestoewe.wordpress.com.  I have a link on my page!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clumsy Knitter  |  August 12, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Hello and congrats on your new job!

    I was wondering about your dragon shawl: does the stitch count fluctuate within the repeats, so that the count isn’t the same in every row? That might explain the aggravation.

    If not, I only have two words for you: stitch markers! 😉

    • 2. maddiehatter  |  August 13, 2009 at 8:24 am

      Thanks! I can’t wait to start!
      I really need to just sit down and REALLY read the pattern. I’m sure that deep within the pattern, I’ll see the light. Thanks for the tips! I need all the help I can get!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
